He Gets to Learn Chess All Over Again I Envy Him
Yeah, definitely cease playing if you lot're non enjoying information technology. But so once again, you could always try your hand(south) at chess boxing?? :) Josh Waitzkin quit chess and got into some kind of martial arts, apparently he got quite skillful at it likewise.
Still, that's a pessimistic view of chess. The cliché "Practise makes perfect" is stupid and inaccurate, merely it fits chess much more aptly than it fits, say, playing the piano. (I speak from feel.) Chess is more mathematical and cut-and-dried than most things near which people try to use that tired phrase. In general, the saying should become, "Do makes permanent." Information technology's certainly more apt concerning music and sports this way.
Chess is much unlike. You tin can practice tactics, and you will in fact become better and meliorate with practice. Y'all can memorize openings (granted it'southward not the ideal way to spend the time), and as long as your memorization technique is good, you will definitely learn and memorize those openings.
If you lot don't desire to play chess anymore, so I certainly wouldn't desire to stand in your fashion. Your decision is respectable; not everyone has to play chess, and as drieper said, sometimes quitting is for the best. I just don't remember chess is an erstwhile man'southward game through which 1 passes the time waiting to die. Personally, my chess skill has vastly improved in the fourth dimension I've studied information technology. Information technology's non truthful at all that the boilerplate player remains average. Most of the titled players are not prodigies; they just worked really hard to get really skilful.
Is chess a worthy contribution to humanity? Some can see that it is. The aforementioned can be said of music and sports as well. Chess players, musicians, and athletes aren't curing cancer... but that'due south all right. But if chess is not your way to contribute, then good luck in other pursuits.
devoid wrote:
Sounds to me similar you have a perfectionist complex. You lot know y'all will never reach the top levels so you take started to detest it. It's annoying getting beaten all the time, it'due south painful that the improvement process is sooo slow, so you feel similar giving up and justify this decision past diminishing the worth of this game to yourself.
I call up I may accept a similar complex. Years ago, I got creamed past my chess computer on level 3; these days... permit me put it this way: merely yesterday did my reckoner finally manage to snap its eighty-plus-game losing streak confronting me on its highest level (72). Still, later all my vast improvement, my rating nonetheless languishes between 1500-1700 on this site (and much worse in rush: 1250-1350. Ugh!) I look upon ratings such as yours (2167 in plough-based) with longing and fifty-fifty some jealousy! The improvement process is slow indeed, and I've felt similar this before... diminishing the worth of the game. But I effort to exist patient and hang in there.
'S a hobby, mate. If information technology isn't your ball of wax, all-time move on and get started on the novel or homeless shelter or contemplation of loftier thoughts.
I'm a large fan of chess as a daily mental exercise, a big fan of sport as a daily physical practice, and a big fan of my piece of work as a means to financial and social ends. Chess is just a delicious part of this counterbalanced breakfast.
Find your own balance.
Mana, what's wrong with taking role in other activities besides as playing chess. Playing chess and being interactive or contributing to the human race are not mutually exclusive. Most normal people have more than one hobby or activity that they are involved in. Become a life! Chess tin nonetheless exist part of it.
manavendra wrote:
I am bored with Chess.
take up checkers.
I know the feeling well i played in my teens and reached a competent level then i gave it upwardly so 40 years later i and so accept it up once more at present i find it a strugle but win or lose i exercise savor the game so i plod on hoping to in one case again to attain a decent level
Perhaps, all the people who are trying to defend Chess as their passion should acknowledge the ground reality that Chess is not highly-seasoned to most of the people, considering the numbers of fans and media attention to other sports like Soccer, Football, Baseball, etc. Also, the amend half of the population i.east. women specially tend to call back Chess every bit a psych-game, just to exist used when your neurons arn't firing in sync, every bit modern medical research has shown.
What I asked for was that is there whatever innovative ideas by Chess.com to brand playing Chess more interactive for "non so serious" players like animating moves more than in tune with the fighting spirit (say, a knight vandalising the pawn), pop-upward messages suggesting the book openings yous are making, giving incentive if you have fabricated the best bachelor move, giving you scores for every move, etc.
Chess is a great hobby, merely not at the cost of sacrificing your family fourth dimension, not wanting to be disturbed when you are engrossed in a (live) game. What the people in their recent comments are suggesting is that Chess can improve your thought process, I go this betoken. But, tell me how many summit Chess players accept get National leaders, or take worked for a World-broad humanitarian crusade.
Do you lot think Anand or Kramnik or Kasparov, etc would do great, if made Caput of the UN Security Council, or whatsoever other global organization whose decisions have globe-wide implications?
Chess is skillful for your self esteem.... And it improves your concentration too. I think information technology's perfect if yous are feeling anxious or something, it makes yous more focused, the 15 minutes y'all spend in a chess game, you lot are absorved completley. Plus information technology improves your memory and your brain seems to be faster later it as well. It makes yous "wake upward" mentally... anyone get what i'm saying?
It makes you more intelligent as well
Sounds similar someone is rationalizing. We all know you are quitting because yous suck.
Live and let live. Maybe you're expecting besides much too fast or information technology'due south just not for you. Either way, yous are free to choose your hobbies.
By the way, I heard a quote which made a lot of sense to me. It goes something like: perfect practice makes perfect. If y'all're practicing the wrong manner, it doesn't matter how much you do information technology, you lot all the same won't improve. But that'southward a moot indicate in your case anyway since it looks like your heart but isn't in it anymore. I've been there.
You may be jumping the gun with quitting at present.
Try playing for a few more months, establishing a lot of friends, then announcing that "you have to leave," and so conform a long and public tearful goodbye with cyber hugs and everything, then wave from the caboose equally the train pulls away from the station, then return before long thereafter with a very similar nick and caption for how information technology's okay for you lot to exist here now.
You lot can then repeat the whole thing, believe it or not. Just be patient, young spider.
yous audio like you lot were forced to play chess. like someone is forced to have piano lessons.
I have chosen to play chess and if you lot remember chess is to serious and not funny you should come up to the guild there I am playing nosotros have not bad fun every thursday. for me chess is everything I seek only ok quondam it tin too be a curse.
Considering I as a man cannot residuum till skilful becomes better and meliorate becomes best. I am very aggressive and therefore in the express amount of time I have been a member I have tried over 6000 puzzles in tactic trainer.
just I still advise you choice upwardly chess once a while maybe you lot will relish chess eventually.
You lot are the same person who posted "Chess and Life Relations" in the forum less than two weeks ago, where you said this:
"I learn't playing Chess when I was 8, but i played simply for short span, with intermittant gaps of many years. Only recently, I have get a Chessholic. I mean Chess and Life, intermixed so beautifully by interpolating the Chess rules, strategies, tacts, positions, ranks, files, etc."
And now this:
" I am bored with Chess. I want to quit now ..."
...and:
" I am tired of making mental calculations game later game ..."
Hmmm.... Anything you wish to practise well, is about patience. I don't think it's about giving upwardly and calling it stupid.
woodshover wrote:
Chess is bored with yous.
LOL
manavendra wrote:
I am bored with Chess. I desire to quit now, and move on to more active sports involving more human interactions than merely making dumb static moves. I know, some people consider Chess players as smarter, just it's non Rocket Science, and besides you are non making whatever contributions to the human race past playing Chess. There is life beyond the 64 squares, which is much more entertaining and challenging. The full general rule that "practise makes you perfect" does not applies to Chess play and an average actor will always remains average without any vertical growth in terms of his ratings dissimilar other sports. Chess is a passive game, and I am tired of making mental calculations game after game, with no future in sight.
I would better save Chess for my older days laden with passive social life, when I take nothing else to do except to wait for eventual mate/death.
You might give the Tactics Trainer and/or the Chess Mentor a effort. Or even the Videos. Of course at 72 maybe I prove your bespeak. Merely I like the many dimensions of Chess.Com. Deplorable you don't.............
@devoid, @bobbyDK, @trysts
My father taught me to play Chess when I was 8 years old. I enjoyed playing Chess so with my father, because that time Chess taught me many more things than only Chess tactics and strategies. The greatest gift that Chess gave me was that information technology brought my father closer to me. I still remember, how He was amused when I played "Bc4". Perhaps, players who accept taught Chess to their children can empathise this situation more accurately.
Yes, this postal service is influenced with the forum topic "Chess and Life Relations". I am non saying that I can't excel in Chess with practise or whatever. I, now, want to play Chess in "real" life, with real pieces, and I desire to "WIN". I firmly believe Chess and Life are related, and I am non quitting Chess, but I am only quitting the 8x8 board.
I want to see all you guys on the larger life boards, and pls "don't sink my battleship"!!
i'g bored with this thread.
hollowaytanduch70.blogspot.com
Source: https://www.chess.com/forum/view/general/i-am-bored-with-chess
I am bored with Chess. I desire to quit now, and movement on to more agile sports involving more man interactions than just making dumb static moves. I know, some people consider Chess players as smarter, but it's not Rocket Scientific discipline, and besides y'all are non making whatever contributions to the human race by playing Chess. In that location is life beyond the 64 squares, which is much more entertaining and challenging. The general rule that "practice makes you perfect" does not applies to Chess play and an average player will always remains average without any vertical growth in terms of his ratings unlike other sports. Chess is a passive game, and I am tired of making mental calculations game after game, with no future in sight.
I would improve save Chess for my older days laden with passive social life, when I take nothing else to do except to await for eventual mate/death.